Military Records
- From the National ArchivesBesides searching the National Archives, this site also has a comprehensive list of helpful websites located under "Military Resources on other web sites." You may also order copies of military records here.
- From AccessGenealogy.comGives information and online resources ranging from the King Philip War to Vietnam.
- The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors SystemSearch for Civil War military personnel.
African American Research
- Afrigeneas.comThis site is dedicated to African American genealogy; participate in discussions/chats, join a mail list, and search their resources.
- African American Griots ProjectBy Rootsweb and U.S. Gen Web; find background information about African American history, famous African Americans, as well as genealogical resources.
- Christine's Genealogy WebsiteA personal website about African American genealogy. Contains links to outside resources, blog posts, forums, and RSS feeds.
- 1850 Slave ScheduleSearch the 1850 Slave Schedule through FamilySearch.org.
- MySlaveAncestors.comAlthough this site is run by a for-profit company, MySlaveAncestors.com offers tips on getting started with African American genealogy as well as dates and background concerning the census, slave schedules, and property records.
American Indian Research
- Guide to Tracing Your American Indian AncestryPDF document by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Department of the InteriorBasic information and links to outside resources on how to get started with your American Indian genealogy and where to locate specific documents like the Dawes Rolls.
- Tribal Leaders DirectoryIt all starts with talking to people! Here is the latest Tribal Leaders Directory, last updated Spring 2011 by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
General Databases & Census Help
- FamilySearch.orgThe largest genealogy organization in the world, this database is published by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Obtain a free account, search countless records including the census, and connect with other family trees.
These general databases are a great place to start your research, especially if you don't quite know what you're looking for.
- CensusFinder.comLinks out to free census records. Organized by state and county.
- Census Overview & BackgroundGives an overview and background behind every US census.
- Ellis IslandSearch the Ellis Island immigration center & passenger lists and even search by ship.
Website Directories
- Cyndi's ListOne of the most well-know and comprehensive genealogy directories on the web. Choose from over 300,000 links in over 150 categories.
- U.S. GenWeb ProjectRun by volunteers, this site lists genealogical resources available for every state and nearly every county.
- AccessGenealogy.comOwned by Ancestry.com, AccessGenealogy lists free resources by state, and special topics such as American Indian and military records.
Maps and Land
- How to use maps in GenealogyA PDF handout from census.gov on the value of maps in genealogical research.
- Hitorical Maps from the University of TexasThe Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (digital).
- Historical Maps from the LIbrary of CongressPart of the American Memory project.
- Historical Maps from the University of GeorgiaThe Hagrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library also has digital scans of historical maps.
- US Land Patent SearchSearch General Land Office Records from the Bureau of Land Management. Also includes scanned images of original documents.
- Deed PlatterIf you have a deed with Metes and Bounds, you can map it here.
Subject Guide
Burial Places
- Find a GraveSearch nearly 49 million grave records. You can also request a photo of a specific grave.
- VeteransSearch the "Nationwide Gravesite Locator" through the Department of Veterans Affairs.
- U.S. GenWeb Tombstone Transcription ProgjectOrganized by state and county, find transcriptions and photos of tombstones for registered cemetaries.
- African American CemeteriesView the history of specific cemetaries as well as photos and transcriptions of tombstones.