Skip to main content

Junkyard Theories: Home

An exploration of the scientific method by looking at discarded theories.

STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER

This is a general encyclopedia. Your first search should use this database!

Grolier Online Encyclopedia


This is a general science database.

Today's Science


This is a biological science database.

Rosen Core Concept Biology


This is a general reference database.  It contains information about many topics, including science topics.

Student Resources in Context


This database contains many reference books about history of the world.  Your theory may be included here too.

World History in Context


Use this database to find information about any people associated with your theory.

Biography Resource Center

JUNKYARD THEORIES

Keyword Searching

How to find keywords to make your research easier:

Some topics are easy to search for by inserting just the topic name into a search engine.  However, most topics need additional keywords to help you find information.

Search for keywords while you are reading by looking for and recording:

  • other names for the same topic
  • other topics that relate to the topic you are searching for
  • people that are associated with the topic

use your keyword list to search for more information about your topic.

Click on the screencast to see an example about how to search for keywords:

JUNKYARD THEORY BIOLOGY TOPICS

The Four Element Theory of Matter (Earth, Fire, Air, Water)

Lamarckism

Maternal Impression

Miasma Theory of Disease

Preformationism

Vitalism (Vital Force Theory)

Physiognomy

Stress Theory of Ulcer Formation

Out of Asia Theory of Human Origin

Four Humors Theory of "Medicine"

Spontaneous Generation

DIRECTIONS

ABCD Website Evaluation Form

EASYBIB

School Library System | Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES | 1879 West Genesee Street Road | Auburn, NY 13021