Skip to main content

Communication Coordinators - School Library System Council Meeting- December 8, 2017: SLS Council Meeting Minutes

Location

Friday, October 7, 2016. Distance Learning Room, Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES. 12:45 PM - 3:00 PM.

School Librarians Present

Auburn Enlarged City School District

Victoria Calarco​
​Marcella Didio​
Christina Lupo​
Anne Mlod

Cato-Meridian Central School District

Susan Cutri
​Diana Hildreth (library clerk)

​Jordan-Elbridge Central School District

Kelly Gensler
Jennifer Martin

Moravia Central School District

Jenifer Westover

Port Byron Central School District

Melissa Beyel

​Skaneateles Central School District

Debra Covell​

Southern Cayuga Central School District

Dawn Sedorus

​Union Springs Central School District

Stephanie Berry
Lori Willey

Weedsport Central School District

Aja Hahn

SLS Council Meeting Minutes

  1. Updates From the Local Library Community
  • Jill Hand, Youth Services Librarian, shared information about current events  at Seymour Public Library.
  1. Professional Development Opportunities
  • Meeting Dates
    • Third meeting of the year- February/March TBA
    • Fourth Meeting of the year- Friday, April 13
  • Conferences and Workshops
    • Kathleen Odean workshops are planned for April. More information when it becomes available.
      • Best Books for Elementary School Students,  4/5 Thursday
      • Best Books for Middle and High School Students, 4/6 Friday
    • NYLA-SSL- Long Island, May 4-5. There is a call for proposals, interested school library media specialists (SLMS) are encouraged to submit workshop proposals. SLS will offer grants to SLMS wishing to attend the conference.
    • STEM Expo at BOCES (May, TBA). More information when it becomes available.
  1. Other Announcements
  • NYLA-SSL membership- The School Library System (SLS) will cover the cost of membership in the New York Library Association (NYLA) and the Section of School Librarians (SSL) for 2018. This is an excellent way to stay current with news and events related to the library community in New York State. Interested SLMS are encouraged to contact SLS.
  • New AASL Standards- The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) unveiled the new standards framework earlier in November. More information soon.
  1. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Practices
  • Media items in SCOOLS Union Catalog- While we do not include media items in the union catalog, it is possible that records for media items may be found in it. Please do not request to borrow any media items through interlibrary loan.
  • It is requested that SLMS help us keep the SCOOLS clean.Make sure to use high-quality records with the correct material types and to delete items no longer in your collections. Contact SLS if you have any questions
  • Borrowing materials from libraries outside SLS- Do not reach out directly to public or academic libraries to request to borrow materials through ILL. Contact SLS to request to borrow items not found in the SCOOLS catalog and we will search our network to see if it is available. Please note that even if you know the local public or academic library has the item you wish to borrow, it may actually be lent to us from different library. Contact SLS if you have any questions.
  1. Database Purchasing for 2018-2019
  • Database orders for next year will be compiled through the Library Resources Management (LRM) system. Each SLMS can log into the LRM to identify the items purchased they purchased for their library this year. These items are also listed as purchase requests for the next school year. SLMS can easily add, modify,  or delete individual items.
  • Communication Coordinators (or department chairs) can log into the LRM to print the combined database purchase requests for all of the school libraries in their school district. The Communication Coordinator will take this database purchase request and the price information for the library automation and library media resources CoSers (base fees and related a la carte items), and meet with their school business officials to request approval for purchases. It is requested that the school business officials sign and return these documents to SLS by the end of March.
  • Contact SLS if you:
    • would like us to request a database trial, or
    • have any questions about the database ordering process.
  1. School Library System CoSers
  • Library Media Resources- Coordinated Collection Development (CCD) orders are by March 30, 2018.
  • School Library Automation- 
    • Destiny can integrate with student information systems like SchoolTool. It can also integrate with Axis 360. As part of the migration to Destiny, the library catalogs for Moravia, Port Byron, and Southern Cayuga were integrated into these systems. Skaneateles asked that their library catalogs be integrated with these systems.
    • SLS is investigating if OPALS can be integrated with these systems.
  1. Discussion About Circulation Statistics
  • (Postponed to a future date.)
  1. Discussion About Database Usage Statistics
  • (Postponed to a future date.)
  1. Discussion About Makerspaces in School Libraries
  • (Postponed to a future date.)
  1. Other Information
  • PBS Learning Media- PBS is changing this service beginning January 1, 2018. It is unknown if it will still be compatible with Snap.
  • Movie Licensing- BOCES is exploring the possibility of offering movie licensing through Movie Licensing USA and the Motion Picture Licensing Corporation (MPLC). These will allow schools to legally use movies from many movie studios and producers. Check the Movie Licensing USA and MPLC to verify that specific titles are covered by these licenses and how these movies can be used. It is anticipated that these licenses will be available beginning January 1st.
  • Makerspace Room At BOCES- Distance Learning will be enhanced to also serve as a Makerspace room. When complete, it will be available for student instruction and teacher training. We are exploring ideas for coding, 3D printing, laser cutting. 3d printers will also be available to print student-created projects. Workstations will be on mobile tables so that the room can continue to be used for large-group meetings and workshops.
  • STEM curriculum- Tony Abbatiello will be gathering key people to assist with this project.
  • Summer Camps this year will include:
    • half day, 2 weeks for Elementary School students and
    • full day, 1 week for High School students.
    • BOCES will not be partnering with Robot Zone. this year.

Others Present

Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES

Andrew Dutcher, School Library System Coordinator

Seymour Public Library

Jill Hand, Youth Services Librarian​

School Library System | Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES | 1879 West Genesee Street Road | Auburn, NY 130211879 West Genesee Street Road ● Auburn, NY 13021