Skip to main content

Moravia Middle School Resources - Spring 2016: Home

General Information

ELA Resources

Teachingbooks.net

Covers an extensive library of children's books and young adult literature and their authors. Provides access to educational materials and programs (short movies, audiobook readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans and more) that add a multimedia dimension to reading in the classroom, library, and at home.

 

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)

An expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, full-text essays from literary reference books and monographs, critical articles from major literary journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews. Also includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of LiteratureBeacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English LiteratureThe Literary Encyclopedia, all of Magill On Literature Plus and much more.

 

Bloom's Literature

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Science Resources

Science Online

The award-winning Science Online has a wealth of content that facilitates STEM research and learning. New Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines organized into eLearning Modules. Interactive science experiments that come with lesson objectives, data tables for findings, and analysis of expected results allow users to replicate the in-class laboratory experience in a safe and user-friendly environment.

 

Discovery Education

Social Studies Resources

Go! Grolier Online

A three-in-one general encyclopedia featuring: Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, and The New Book of Knowledge. Resources also include videos, clickable maps and access to world newspapers.  Offers an elementary, middle and high school interface.

History Reference Center

A suite of history databases that include: Issues & Controversies; Issues & Controversies in American History; American History Online, Modern World History Online; Ancient & Medieval History Online, African American History Online, and American Indian History Online. 

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Offers contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most relevant social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and more.

 

Stanford History Education Group

Math Resources

DIY Maths

 

Britannica Online 

Elementary, Middle and High School Editions offer access to four complete encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster's Pop-Up Student Dictionary with Audio Pronunciations, Merriam-Webster's Pop-Up Student Thesaurus, a world atlas, timelines and resources for teachers.

School Library System | Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES | 1879 West Genesee Street Road | Auburn, NY 13021