Skip to main content

Looking for Resources in All the Wrong Places: Home

Resources from the NYSCSS Presentation, March 30, 2016

NYSCSS 2016

NOVELny Databases

NOVELny

NOVELNY is an online library of literally hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker, free of charge.

 

 

Scholastic Go!

A three-in-one general encyclopedia featuring: Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, and The New Book of Knowledge. Resources also include videos, clickable maps and access to world newspapers.  Offers an elementary, middle and high school interface.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Offers contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most relevant social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and more.

 

See your school librarian for access to more database resources.

Web Resources

Library of Congress Teacher Resources

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.  Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.

 

New York Heritage Collection

New York Heritage Digital Collections is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and everyone else interested the people, places and institutions of historical New York State. The site provides immediate, free access to digital collections that reflect New York State's long history and is a product of the Empire State Library Network.

National Parks

The National Parks are America's largest classrooms.  Find lesson plans, materials to loan, mobile apps, professional development and distance learning opportunities at this site.

Teaching History

Teachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. With funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) has created Teachinghistory.org with the goal of making history content, teaching strategies, resources, and research accessible.

National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Documents that are important for legal or historical reasons are kept and preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you. 

 

Stanford History Education Group

SHEG's Reading Like a Historian curriculum has passed 2.1 million downloads.  It is used in all 50 states and in 127 countries. SHEG has expanded beyond U.S. to World History, ventured into the area of formative assessment, and begun to explore how a document-based curriculum can be taught to middle school students. 

 

School Library System | Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES | 1879 West Genesee Street Road | Auburn, NY 13021