Skip to main content

Databases A-Z: K-P

This guide contains a full list of databases offered by the School Library System organized alphabetically by name.

Databases by Name

Kids InfoBits

Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5 covering geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports, and more. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)

An expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, full-text essays from literary reference books and monographs, critical articles from major literary journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews. Also includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, all of Magill On Literature Plus and much more.

National Newspaper Index

Provides quick access and indexing (1977 to present) to America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

New York State Historic Newspapers

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. The collection can be searched as a whole, or users can browse by county and/or geographic region.

OmniFile Full Text Select (Ebsco)

Covers core subjects, including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Offers contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most relevant social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and more.

Professional Development Collection (Ebsco)

Designed for professional educators, this database provides access to nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports. Examples of titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others.

ProQuest

ProQuest offers a complete lineup of research tools for elementary, middle, and high school content that is reading level-linked (lexiled), supports 21st-century information literacy, and helps differentiate instruction across all K-12 curriculum areas.

School Library System | Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES | 1879 West Genesee Street Road | Auburn, NY 13021